Cookies · Utica,NY

The North Star

The North Star, a constant in the night sky, a landmark you can always count on, and the next stop on The I Did It All For The Cookie adventure. I had originally set the course for this blog post to be about “The Cookie” you know the one that had inspired this blog, however that cookie was sold out and it mad me really sad. So I began to think where can I go that’s close, and like a shooting star breaking through the sky I thought of course let’s go to North Star Orchards. Now I know what your thinking, “Orchards are places you go in the fall for apples, pumpkins, cider, and pies so why would you go there for cookies?” The answer is easy the universe of treats inside this beautiful red building is pretty awesome.

Just take a look around when you walk inside, your eyes don’t know where to look first. It’s the same as if you were hiking in the Adirondacks on a crystal clear night and looked up and really saw the night sky and all its wonderment for the first time. Inside North Star Orchards you will find fruits, veggies, plants, locally made products, candies, pies, and the reason we are here cookies.

Now these are not just ordinary cookies they are out of this world cookies, I gravitated towards the large cookies in the bakery case however they do also often have plates of smaller cookies available if you need to share with others. The case on this day had 5 delicious looking options to choose from, Oatmeal Raisin, Molasses, Chocolate Chip, Peanut Butter Chip, and an Iced Brownie Cookie, now came the decision, how on earth do you choose, well because I can, I got all 5.IMG_9174

To be honest I’m not a huge fan of oatmeal raisin cookies at all, but fortunately I have a sidekick who is,  so I recruited my wife Amy to offer up her thoughts on this one for you. I figured since there were 5 cookies we could share, so I’m gonna use her take on the molasses as well. IMG_9189

“They taste like Cookies” was the first thing she said, which I suppose since this is a blog about cookies is a very good start. “Very soft and chewy, you can taste of the freshness” I probed for more details and got “buttery, with hints of cinnamon and plenty of raisins” for the oatmeal raisin. As for the molasses, it reminded her of a large gingersnap, one of her favorite cookies.

One thing all these cookies have in common is how large, soft, chewy, and fresh they are. Something that can’t always be said or found looking for a good cookie. I enjoyed all 3 cookies I tasted so lets take a look at them.

If you have not noticed, chocolate chip are a favorite of mine, all but one entry has featured this slice of Americana cookie, and they have all been different too. North Stars is a big, thick, meaty cookie that begs to be put in your mouth. I found it a touch on the sweet side and loaded with tiny chips which melt delightfully on your tongue. For me the best part of this cookie was the slightly underdone center, giving you that cookie dough feel I really love.

These next two cookies were my favorites of the bunch, and a pair that I have not found anywhere else so far. The peanut butter chip was loaded with those same tiny chips as well, only these where peanut butter. This cookie was just so full of peanut buttery goodness, I kept thinking the only thing better would be eating peanut butter from a jar.

Now the iced brownie cookie was pure joy to eat, a treat for the senses. I swear if you closed your eyes while eating it you would immediately think you were just licking the spoon after making brownies. The icing added this sweetness that complimented the chocolate overload really well too.

Do yourself a favor, next time you craving something yummy, skip over the Milky way, set a course for North Star Orchards instead, explore their universe of goodies, but most importantly Do It For The Cookie! Don’t forget if you have any thoughts or suggestions on where I should go next  let me know on Twitter or Facebook.

IMG_9203

2 thoughts on “The North Star

  1. I love North Star’s bakery. You highlighted some great ones. I also recommend my 2 favorites that are normally found on the plates of smaller cookies- frosted lemon and pumpkin (no matter what time of year!) And of course you’ll have to go back next month when fresh blueberries are in season because their blueberry cookies are out of this world!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

